Quick Search

Gl-pu(mc)_main Look Inside

Alexander Glazunov

In the Flesh Thou Didst Fall Asleep

Plotiyu usnuv

Russian "Greek" Chant
TTBB
Church Slavonic
2015
Gl-PU(mc)
Price: $1.95
Thumb_diction_cd Download a custom Audio Diction Guide (What's This?)

This piece is part of the following collection(s):

2015-menslav_thumb 2015 Packet of Sacred Works for Men's Chorus ~ 50% off

REVIEW THIS ITEM


There are no customer reviews yet for this item. Be the first!

One of the few known choral works by Glazunov, “In the Flesh Thou Didst Fall Asleep” is the Exaposteilarion (or Hymn of Light), sung at the end of the Paschal Kanon at the Orthodox Matins of Easter. For his setting Glazunov used a well-known melody of Russian “Greek” Chant, drawn from the traditional unison chant book of the Russian Orthodox Church. In his simple arrangement Glazunov shows himself to be a master of counterpoint, in the tradition of Rimsky-Korsakov and Taneyev. 
less

Best Selling Titles in Russian Orthodox Sacred Music - Men's Voices

Ra028mc_search Sergei Rachmaninoff Rejoice, O Virgin
Bogoroditse Devo

Sergei Rachmaninoff

TTBB

Church Slavonic

Ra028mc

Price: $1.95
Go004_search Nikolai Golovanov It Is Truly Fitting
Dostoyno yest

Nikolai Golovanov

TTBB

Church Slavonic

Go004

Price: $1.95
Cn176mc_search Pavel Chesnokov Salvation Is Created
Spasenie sodelal

Pavel Chesnokov

Kievan Chant

TTBB

Church Slavonic

Cn176mc

Price: $1.95
Cn059mc_search Pavel Chesnokov Praise the Name of the Lord
Hvalite imia Ghospodne

Pavel Chesnokov

Znamenny Chant

TTBB

Church Slavonic

Cn059mc

Price: $1.95